DC Writers Workshop Class of 2016 Selected

by Ross Collie
0 comment

DC Comics have just announced a list of eight hopeful writers whom have been selected to participate in the DC Writers Workshop Program of 2016. The eight selected were chosen from over 1,500 applicants, making their acceptance into the program no mean feat. The course will run for 13 weeks and will be led by none other than legendary comic book writer Scott Snyder.

DC’s Vice President of Talent Development, Bobbie Chase, commented on the program saying:

“We were blown away by the positive response to the DC Writers Workshop program.”

“…After reading through thousands of entries we’re confident this new class of 2016 represent the best and brightest aspiring writers in comics.”

Scott Snyder also passed comment on the course saying:

“I’m so thrilled and honored to be teaching this class again. The level of incoming talent is incredibly inspiring, and I’m deeply grateful to DC for giving me the chance,”

The complete list of those selected stands as follows:

Owl Goingback (Bram Stoker award winner for CrotaSealed With A Kiss), writing partners Erica Harrell and Desirée Proctor (writers of MTV’s Happyland and The Walking Dead: Michonne for Telltale Games), Al Letson (PlanetfallImperfect, Peabody award winner for NPR’s State of the Re:Union), David Accampo (Lost AngelsSparrow & Crowe), Aaron Gillespie (LadyDemonBionic Man), Ryan Lindsay (Ghost TownNegative Space), and Tony Patrick (X’ed, writer of short film Black Card).

A portion of the members selected last years 2015 pilot Talent Development Workshop program, including both writers and artists, will have their work released and showcased in a one-shot comic set for release November 30 called ‘New Talent Showcase‘.

Would this type of course appeal to you? We’d love to know. Let us know in the comments below!

You may also like