by Kevin Sharp
0 comment

GLAAD has announced the 2019 Media Awards nominees, which honor positive depictions of LGBTQ+ people in media, and some familiar comic book names can be found.

Supergirl, Black Lightning, and Wynonna Earp were all nominated for Outstanding Drama Series. Deadpool 2 got an Outstanding Film nomination.

Here are the full nominees lists:

Outstanding Film

  • Blockers– Universal
  • Crazy Rich Asians– Warner Bros.
  • Deadpool 2– 20th Century Fox
  • The Girl in the Spider’s Web– Sony Pictures
  • Love, Simon– 20th Century Fox

Outstanding Drama Series

  • Billions– Showtime
  • Black Lightning– The CW
  • Grey’s Anatomy– ABC
  • Handmaid’s Tale– Hulu
  • Instinct– CBS
  • Pose– FX
  • Shadowhunters– Freeform
  • Star– Fox
  • Supergirl– The CW
  • Wynonna Earp– Syfy

GLAAD also gives out awards in the Outstanding Comic Book category. Those nominees are:

  • Batwoman, written by Marguerite Bennett, K. Perkins, Scott Godlewski, Fernando Blanco, John Rauch, Deron Bennett – DC Comics
  • Bingo Love, written by Tee Franklin, Jenn St-onge, Joy San, Cardinal Rae – Image Comics
  • Exit Stage Left: The Snagglepuss Chronicles, written by Mark Russell, Mike Feehan, Mark Morales, Sean Parsons, José Marzan Jr., Paul Mounts, Dave Sharpe – DC Comics
  • Fence, written by C.S. Pacat, Johanna the Mad, Joana LaFuente, Jim Campbell – BOOM! Studios
  • Iceman, written by Sina Grace, Robert Gill, Nathan Stockman, Ed Tadeo, Rachelle Rosenberg, Federico Blee, Joe Sabino – Marvel Comics
  • Lumberjanes: The Infernal Compass, written by Lilah Sturges, Polterink, Jim Campbell – BOOM! Studios
  • Oh S#!t It’s Kim & Kim, written by Magdalene Visaggio, Eva Cabrera, Claudia Aguirre, Zakk Saam – Black Mask Comics
  • Runaways, written by Rainbow Rowell, Kris Anka, David Lafuente, Takeshi Miyazawa, Matthew Wilson, Triona Tree Farrell, Jim Campbell, Michael Garland, Joe Caramagna – Marvel Comics
  • Star Wars: Doctor Aphra, written by Kieron Gillen, Simon Spurrier, Emilio Laiso, Kev Walker, Marc Deering, Rachelle Rosenberg, Java Tartaglia, Joe Caramagna, Travis Lanham – Marvel Comics
  • Strangers in Paradise XXV, written by Terry Moore – Abstract Studio

The winners will be announced in two ceremonies: Los Angeles on March 28, then New York on May 4.

You may also like