Joker wins Saturn Award Two Years After Its release

by Lee White
0 comment

Due to an extended eligibility period, DC managed to secure themselves their first best comic-to-film motion picture award.  Covid-19 saw an increased window for the awards that spanned from July 15, 2019, through to November 15, 2020. Thanks to this DC’s Joker fell into that category with its 4th October 2019 release date.  It also saw the inclusion of streaming and VOD entrants for the first time.  Joker (2019) secured the win at the 46th annual Saturn Awards, seeing off competition from Birds of Prey, Bloodshot, The New Mutants, and The Old Guard. The event took place in L.A. on October 26, 2021, following its hiatus last year. The Saturn Awards were originally introduced for sci-fi, fantasy, and horror films. They have since expanded to a range of other fictional films including comic book adaptions.

Marvel’s dominance ended

Since the category’s introduction in 2013,  Marvel has dominated with them winning it on all six previous occasions.  Iron Man 3Black Panther, and Avengers: Endgame are amongst the previous winners. This must have been greeted with smiles from Warner Bros as the movie continues to be one of the most successful DC films in recent times. The big winner at the Saturn Movie Awards was Star Wars, however.  The Rise of Skywalker took home five of the top prizes which included Best Science Fiction Film. Other winners included Once Upon a Time… In Hollywood (Best Fantasy Film) and Knives Out (Best Thriller Film)

This Saturn Award isn’t the only award that Joker has won for its unique and intense film style.  A 2020 Golden Globe and an Academy Award for lead actor Joaquin Phoenix are just a few other honors for the Warner Bros project.  With nothing officially confirmed there is no certainty of a sequel but rumors circulating that Warner Brothers have approached director Todd Phillips to begin work on a second movie.

Source Article

You may also like