Strange Adventures for DC Comics Arrives in March

Strange Adventures

Strange Adventures for DC Comics Arrives in March

In the tradition of Watchmen, The Dark Knight Returns and DC: The New Frontier comes a story of war, blood and love that will keep readers locked in and talking for a long time to come; Strange Adventures arrives in March 2020 with a 12-issue saga.

Adam Strange is the ultimate hero of planet Rann and is famous throughout the entire galaxy for his many brave and heroic adventures and deeds.  Like in all heroic adventures, Adam Strange’s decisions will come back to haunt him and his family as well as threaten the entirety of the DC Universe. Adam Strange was created in 1958 for DC Comics by Julius Schwartz and Murphy Anderson and first appeared in Showcase #17.  The mantle will be picked up by the Eisner Award-winning team of writer Tom King and artist Mitch Gerads (Mister Miracle and The Sheriff of Babylon) and will be joined by Evan “Doc” Shaner (Justice League: Darkseid War and Green Lantern)

 

“Adam Strange is one of a long line of characters-like Tarzan and Flash Gordon, stolid men with dimpled chins who thrive in ‘foreign lands’-who stand in as a metaphor for a 19th century European dream of colonialism,” said King “Of course, colonialism was nothing like this dream, and it’s that contrast that interests me: the bloody gap between the myth and the reality.  I wanted to tell two stories simultaneously and have them play off each other: the story we tell others and the story others tell about us.  To represent these two aspects, we use two of the best artists in comics, then we weave those two tellings together in odd and new ways that I don’t think anyone’s seen in modern superhero comic.  So it’s a way to do something new and different and hopefully something cool and compelling.”

 

Strange Adventures #1, written by Tom King with art by Mitch Gerads and Evan “Doc” Shaner will be available in stores on March 4, 2020.

https://dccomicsnews.com/wp-content/themes/maxblog/assets/img/flash-icon.jpg

Jeff Testanero

Hartford, Connecticut based blogger and podcaster. Graduate of the Connecticut School of Broadcasting and serious comic book collector for the past 20+ years Diehard Superman fanboy